Paediatric First Aid

Course Description

Paediatric first aid requires a wholly different approach and a unique set of skill – precisely what our Level 3 Award in Paediatric First Aid RQF (QCF) training course was created to communicate. Any individual working in an environment where children are present has an obligation to monitor safety and take the appropriate action in the case of an accident or emergency. This Guardian Angels Training RQF (QCF) Level 3 Award in Paediatric First Aid course has the potential to make the difference between life and death.

Aimed at playgroup personnel, crèche assistants, child minders, teachers and anyone else working in the vicinity of children, the course lasts for two days and was created in accordance with Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and OFSTED.

Delegates are required to attend both days of the course in order to qualify, during which time two important units will be introduced and covered:

  • Unit Title: Paediatric Emergency First Aid
  • Unit Title: Managing Paediatric Illness and Injury


The course lasts for 12 hours split over two days – candidates will be introduced to an array of theoretical knowledge and practical experience.


The syllabus covers the most important elements of first aid for children, which include:

  • Responsibilities and reporting
  • Assessment of the situation
  • Dealing with an unresponsive casualty
  • Resuscitation
  • Anaphylaxis
  • Choking
  • Foreign bodies
  • Control of bleeding and shock
  • Infantile convulsions
  • Fainting
  • Meningitis
  • Burns
  • Heat and cold
  • Head injuries
  • Eye injuries
  • Fractures
  • Sickle cell anaemia
  • Asthma
  • Diabetes

Assessment & Certification

Course instructors monitor candidates throughout the course and will make their assessment in accordance with performance and demonstration of knowledge. There is also a multiple choice paper to complete at the end of the course, which will determine whether or not a candidate receives their certificate.

Successful candidates will receive a certificate valid for three years, after which time a refresher course is required.